Replacing Ford F-150 Engine Advice.

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2006, 04:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing Ford F-150 Engine Advice.

Hi everyone,

My 1999 Ford F-150 4.6L V8 has 160,000 miles on it and I'm starting to think of getting a brand new engine for it.

Is that feasable?
Who does it?
Does Ford sell factory brand new engines?
Would it be a job that I should give to the dealer?
Is it worth it?
Has anyone done it before?

I'm just thinking that it might not be cheaper than just fixing everything as it breaks but over the long run it would be less headaches?

I'm not a mechanic. Just a cheapskate who would like to drive my only new car ever purchased (I'm 43) until I die.

Old 11-28-2006, 04:46 PM
Is that feasable?
yes

Who does it?
any mechanic shop

sort of, but not any price you would want to pay

Would it be a job that I should give to the dealer?
no, unless you just like burning money

Is it worth it?
depends, why do you want to do it?

Has anyone done it before?
yes

Old 11-28-2006, 04:51 PM
Originally Posted by tritonpwr
sort of, but not any price you would want to pay

Is it worth it?
depends, why do you want to do it?

Hi tritonpwr,

Thanks for the responses. If not directly from Ford, who else would sell an actual new Ford engine? I'm assuming only Ford makes new Ford engines???

Why I want to do it? Like I said, just to extend the life of my truck toward infinity without having to deal with endless problems that inevitably start to occur at high mileage. I figure it will be cheaper than buying a new $25,000 truck no matter what? But I've never done it so I don't know.

Thanks,

Charlie

Old 11-28-2006, 06:02 PM
same

Hey, I'm in the same situation. I know nothing about replacing an engine, but will need to soon and also want to do this to save money rather than buying a new truck. I need a Ford F-150 4.9L straight 6. Any ideas on where to begin to look?
Thanks,
Jennifer

Old 11-28-2006, 06:06 PM
Suspended
Exclamation