How to change spark plugs

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2005, 03:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to change spark plugs

Hi

I Dont know much about engines or how to do the major repairs but only the basics like oil change, filters..etc..I own 2000 f150 triton 4x4. I just bought the truck less than a year ago.. And I want to put new spark plugs in and check for loose plugs. How do I get to all 8 plugs with the crap on top of it. I know how to change plugs and all but I'm new to the ford engines ...Oh ya...when Im driving over 60 miles per hour and accelerate..my engine starts to shake...Last time it happen before withine 30 days of purchase and teh dealer replace some #4 coil. So If it is the coil..which coil would it be? I dont feel like bringing my truck to the ford dealer 6 times within one year. hehe...any help would be appreciated...like websites link about hwo to change plugs..

Old 02-14-2005, 06:56 PM
Do this with a cold engine. Use the recomended tourque values. OEM plugs are the best value unless you have a severly modified engine.

http://home.midsouth.rr.com/lightnin...parkplugs.html

Old 02-14-2005, 08:41 PM
Received 220 Likes on 200 Posts
Be very careful not to over torque the plugs. There is a design problem with these engines in that there aren't many threads in the head. If you over torque you can strip the threads. If you under torque, the plug can blow out and take a few threads with it. It happens a lot accoding to the posts on this board. There is much discussion about this problem and there also is a fix that doesn't include replacing the head.

Old 02-14-2005, 09:58 PM
if u run ur engine up to about 7,000 RPM for a few minutes ones the rod gives and it throws the piston it should hit the spark plug and shoot that sucked right out but if u dont wanna do it that way . they have special sockets for them their price but make changing plugs on these modular engines easy. only took me about an hour with just a standard rachet.