1990 aod to c-6 trans swap???????????

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2006, 02:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1990 aod to c-6 trans swap???????????

Hello, i am completly new to forums this is my first time posting so please excuse me if i do something that offends someone. I need info DESPERTLY cause im leaving n.j. the 25th for s.c. i need to order this first thing fri. 17th in order to complete this on sat 18th. i am currently working on a 1990 E-150 van ( sorry about the van part ) with 167000 miles and has the (3 speed with overdrive ) ( not push button )trans which i think is an aod. this vehicle is used for pulling a 30 foot camper and is sliping in 3-4 gear, so i am going to replace the trans with a used one from a salvage yard. my question - is this an aod and is this suitable for the towing? i have already changed the ring and pinion to a 4:11-1 gears. If not would a c-6 be a better choice? if so what year and how complicated is it and what modification do i need to do? i know the bell housing is the same and will bolt right up, but is either trans computer controled and what torque con., flex plate, mount do i use? will my drive shaft be the right length or should get the shaft out of the same vehicle as the c-6? if the shafts are not interchangable is mine to short or to long and are the splines the same from the aod to c-6? lastly the linkages - tv and selector the same? im pretty handy but i dont want 2 big of a project or major fab. THANK FOR ANY INFO YOU CAN GIVE ME

Old 11-17-2006, 08:30 AM
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
If no push button overdrive lockout switch (thats the E4OD), but you do have overdrive (a display of PRN(D)D1), thats the AOD.