How to pick the right rim?

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2009, 03:11 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to pick the right rim?

Hey guys, this year I plan to do a 6" lift and run 35's on my 09 FX4. I am waiting for spring to see what is coming available for the 09's as far as lift options go, but in the mean time, i would like to get the rim and tire situation figured out.

Here the deal, after reading though post after post on rim and tire sizing, I find myself getting confused on the hole offset and backspacing thing. Looking for a little help or suggestions into choosing the right rim and tire without rubbing issues. Like alot of guys here on the forum, i really like the KMC and XD series stuff.

So if I were to go with a 20x9 or 20x8.5 rim, what is the proper offset and backspacing to use? (Running a 35x12.5 tire)

I am new to this so don't roast me too hard guys.

One last thing, the correct bolt spacing is 6x5.5 or 6x135?

Old 03-09-2009, 04:21 PM
Here ya go..

https://www.f150online.com/forums/wh...explained.html

That should get you started. Bolt pattern should be 6 on 135.

I also see you're new to the forums so, welcome! One last thing to get you on your way: If you look at the bar towards the top of the page that says, from left to right, "User CP.. Photo Gallery.. FAQ.. Members List.." you'll notice that down the line it also says "search". You can use that to search for keywords in posts or threads.

A lot of people on here have the same questions and, instead of finding an old thread where it's already been discussed, they'll make a new one asking the same question. Whether it's done because someone is new to the site and hasn't found out how to do everything yet or they're just being lazy, it still gets done. (I've done it myself a few times even using the keyword search).

Anyhoo, kinda got off topid a bit with that last part. lol Sorry about that. Wasn't aimed at you directly but more of a general statement about the forums. :o