Help with leveling kit...

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2008, 11:11 AM
TRUCK OF THE YEAR 2013

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with leveling kit...

....hey fellas! Haven't been here for a LONG while, but I'm back, and I hope you all are well. This is NOT intended to be a DP. I accidentally posted this in the OEM suspension section earlier. :o

Here's my quandary. I did a search for "level kit", "leveling kit", "level", and "leveling", and didn't get a clear-cut answer to my question. I figure it'll be easier/quicker to just ask anyways. I have a 1998 F-150 4x4 extended cab short bed, and I want to install a leveling kit. It LOOKS like it's as simple as taking off the wheels, expanding the springs, and inserting the locks. Is it? What do I need to know before hand? What tools will I need?

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to suspension issues, so any help is appreciated in advance.

Old 08-11-2008, 11:57 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Which kit are you going to buy? I purchased the autospring kit with powder coating on it.

If memory serves me correctly, I needed a pry bar, 18mm deep socket, 30mm deep socket, and a few other metric sockets.

You basically have to seperate the upper control arm from the wheel, then part of the lower arm, slide out the shock/spring, insert spacer, and put everything back together.

Old 08-11-2008, 12:01 PM
TRUCK OF THE YEAR 2013

Hey Turd. That was actually another question I was going to ask. What brand of leveling kit do you guys recommend? Is there a particular brand to stay away from?

If actual removal of the spring is necessary, I MIGHT want to have somebody else do this thing. I've always had a fear of one of those springs coming loose and going straight through me!

Old 08-11-2008, 12:10 PM
There will be no little to no tension in the spring when you remove it, so it wouldn't rocket into the air or towards you.

Most ppl recommend that you stay in the 2" to 2.5" range for the spacer. I have a 2.5" kit on mine.