Lightning

My rant about mods..

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2002, 10:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My rant about mods..

I replied to another post with this, but figured I should start my own thread.

I'm kinda new around here so nobody knows me. But I am an engineer, and I work with engines everyday. I work in the Engine Research and Design Department at SwRI. So maybe that short background will help give my thoughts some legitimacy.

Have any of you ever owned naturally aspirated cars in the past? Have you tried modding them? Have you noticed that no matter how bad the factory exhaust manifolds were, when you put shortys on, nothing significant happens? Then you put on longtubes, and holy moly, look at the power gains. Sometimes on 5 liter 'stangs it was 25 rwhp with a full exhaust with longtubes.

Now the lightning owners see that, and they think the same applies to them. But there is one huge difference between the two. And I'm sure everybody can guess that that difference is the supercharger. There are different forms of superchargers, but the fact that the L's is a constant volume device makes it special.

Since the supercharger is a constant volume device, each turn of the rotor moves "X" volume of air. Therfore, the mass of air depends on the density of the incoming charge and the rotational speed of the blower. NOTHING ELSE. Take a look at the blower specs on Eaton's webpage. (The link was given on here a week or so ago, and probably several times before that). If you look at the first plot, the show flow in CFM at two different delta pressures. Notice how the lines are pretty much on top of each other.