Pre-1997 Models

Bypass smog pump? (1989 E150 van)

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2012, 04:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Bypass smog pump? (1989 E150 van)

Hi, all! My first post here and I'm no mechanic -- so go easy on me!

Basically, I have a friend from church that is having some problems with her 1989 Econovan 150 5.0L. She is permanently wheelchair bound and this is her only vehicle (and has a chair lift for her) -- she is in her 60s and has no income outside of Social Security, so not a lot of spending money here. After just having spent all she had on some unrelated repair recently, it appears that she's having bearing issues with her smog pump. I'm looking for a cheap solution here. Basically, here's my thoughts/questions:

1. Is the Econovan 150 with a 5.0L the same as the F150 with a 5.0L? Basically, same engine so anything that would work for the F150 should work for the Econovan 150?

2. I believe that I can just bypass the smog pump with a shorter belt. Is that correct and should that work as a long-term solution? Note that we do not have inspections here in Michigan -- she seems willing to not worry about it and go with that if it would work. Again, she simply can't afford the new pump right now.

3. Anyone have the length for that belt? I can do the string-measurement thing, but it would be great if someone just had the measurement. It's quite a trip out to her mobile home -- so I'd rather not have to go just to do the measurement and then go all the way back to town to buy the belt and then back out again. If someone has the right belt number and/or length, that would be so much easier.

Thanks very much!

- John...

Old 02-01-2012, 08:06 PM
u can go to a junkyard n grab on off a 5.0 truck or van for dirt cheap just ask the yard b4 u take it how much it will be. they are strait forward n easy to replace. i wouldnt recoment taking it off and doin away with it

Old 02-01-2012, 08:13 PM