Pre-1997 Models

How much power can be forced out of a 302

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2007, 03:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How much power can be forced out of a 302

I have the 5.0 in my 94 f150 4x4 and with what little bit I have done to it, its a beast. I know there's mustang hatchbacks with the H.O. version that can put out way more but I am just getting started. I am not after some econo power build or drag setup. I want to kick every last bit of power out of my trucks original block, even if I have to put sleeves in it. I also want to run at least 110 octane. The only problem is the setup has to be able to handle a rough 1000 mile run. If any one has any tips please post them and please no crap about what I want to do.

Old 11-13-2007, 05:52 PM
The sky's the limit. Small blocks can make huge power with the right builds and power adders, but in your case your tolerance of reliability will probably be the deciding factor.

I'd suggest researching various sources for 302 builds. There is very little different in the car and truck engines other than the intake systems and cams. As a matter of fact, some things like heads were used on the trucks before the cars.

There would be little if any reason to run 110 octane on a vehicle that you want to be reliable for 1000+ miles at a time. You can run various blowers and higher compression engines all on pump gas with octanes of 93 and less.

Personally my first suggestion is to be wary of high revving engines with torque curves up high in the rev range. Though they are great for the drag strip or track with lighter cars, trucks demand more torque down lower in the revs to remain truck worthy engines.

What exactly do you want to do with the truck, and what is your budget?

Old 11-13-2007, 06:08 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post