Lightning

Dead cylinder and a dead end

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2016, 02:48 AM
MG3
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Dead cylinder and a dead end

I have been using this site for a few years now but I just became a member because I have not found exactly what I need yet.

I have a 2001 L, aftermarket pulley on supercharger giving it 15 lbs of boost, SCT tune, aftermarket COP's, CAI, EGR delete. I am getting a code for cylinder 6 missfire, I have tried swapping the COP's and spark plugs around and the issue stays at cylinder 6. I have had a compression test done and it passed, the truck starts and runs good though, it still has quite a bit of power but its not all there. It does not backfire or anything like that, the last shop I took it to they wanted to rebuild the motor for a few grand and see if they could find the problem, I don't want to keep throwing parts at it hoping it fixes it. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Old 03-07-2016, 08:53 AM
Received 220 Likes on 200 Posts
Bad Injector?

Old 03-07-2016, 09:10 AM
MG3
Originally Posted by Roadie
Bad Injector?
I swapped them around too but cylinder 6 still misfires.

Old 03-07-2016, 09:59 AM
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Try a one or two step hotter plug in that cylinder (if anyone makes one to fit it). You might also try increasing or decreasing the gap slightly to see if you can keep better ignition. I would not trust or use a shop that wanted me to completely rebuilt an engine simply because they couldn't find the source of the problem! Find someone that knows how to use a old fashioned vacuum gauge and also try using an old fashioned scope type ignition analyzer to see what's going on inside the engine. A vacuum gauge is good for finding mechanical issues like sticking or leaking valves and leaking head gaskets and an ignition analyzer will find spark, electrical and compression issues.