F-250 / Super Duty / Diesel

Got me a superduty

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2013, 04:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Got me a superduty

Hi all, So I finally got my dream truck ,2002 f-250 scab short bed 4x4 automatic 7.3 xlt with 130k on the clock and its bone stock. (pics to come).

So for starters i'm going to do all my maintenance (oil change, fuel filter, air filter, grease everything, needs a rear diff cover, and few other bits of TLC)

My question's are:
What weight/type of engine oil
What rear end oil
Anything else I should know?

And I have found a few problems so far, my 4x4 is very slow to respond(ESOF) and every now and then when I tried to shift it my a/c would stop blowing out the vents and switch to defrost(witch on my f-150 meant vacuum leak, but im new to diesels and don't know, or know where to look)

Also the fuel gauge seems flutter between full and 3/4 even when sitting still, was wondering what that could be.

Other then that im loving it and hope to keep it around a long time. Only put 40 miles on it so we will see what else creeps up.

Old 07-05-2013, 06:45 PM
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Nice!

As you may have noticed, the ESOF trucks have vacuum pulsed hubs with a manual override lock position. Common for the vacuum hoses paralleling the brake lines to crack, or the vacuum controller to fail. If the climate control system is otherwise working, the electric vacuum pump since diesels don't draw a vacuum like a gasser is most likely fine. You can either find the leak, or plug the lines off and switch to standard manual hubs.

Some guys like Shell Rotella, but I've only used Motorcraft. Do not use gas engine oil, as the hipressure oil pump will turn the detergents to soap suds. 15W40 is the summer/heavy towing oil. I've run it in the PA winters no problem, but some guys switch to lighter. If it is below 32, I plug it in with a timer set three hours before planned starts.