hello, i own a 2002 ford f-150, v8

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2014, 11:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question hello, i own a 2002 ford f-150, v8

here is my problem, it started out that my battery was shot so we replaced it, then it was the alternator. so we bought one, things started looking good, til one day the battery needle went all the way down when trying to start the truck. so we tried cleaning the post and it started right up. and it was fine for 2 or 3 days . then it would start but battery needle would drop. couldn't run lights. I took it to advance, where they tested my battery and it tested good, but they said the alternator wasn't charging it. could my problem be a relay or fuse. im stomped. any help would be greatly appreciated. I used to work as a mechanic, some years ago, but not on anything past 2000. help,

Old 03-06-2014, 11:35 PM
glc
Received 761 Likes on 704 Posts
Welcome!

Introduction Forum Introduce yourself to the Community here! If you have a technical question, try posting it in the appropriate forum.

Old 03-07-2014, 08:30 AM
Welcome!

Old 03-07-2014, 12:23 PM

Received 72 Likes on 65 Posts
welcome, some of us (mainly me) come accross as abrupt, harsh and mean but we will help you if you're willing to learn

Old 03-07-2014, 12:32 PM
Global Moderator &

Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts
Your thread was in the "hello" forum, I took the liberty to move it to Electrical in hopes you will get more help from the experts.

Good to have you here.

Old 03-07-2014, 10:55 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Not too sure how Advance auto load tests a battery.
- If they charge it full before trying a load test, or just jump into a one size fits all load test.

Don't make too much of the issue, your skill set still applies to what you are seeing.

1. If you did not jump start the truck ( see clean posts and it started ) I don't see how it could be the alternator is not charging the battery.