Porter cable Broken please help

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2009, 09:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Porter cable Broken please help

I have the Pc 7424 and i got a little water on the machine and it only works on the 6th speed setting. I was thinking of getting a new machine because i simply dont have the time my appointment list is growing by the day.

Now should i buy a flex instead or stay with dual action. i have been compunding for a few years now. Thanks alot

-Sal

Old 05-14-2009, 11:29 AM
I am on my 2nd 7424 due to the power cable screwing up my first one and frying it. The Flex came out just after I bought my 2nd one and I was pissed.

If you have ever used the Flex, you'll never touch the 7424 again. It works 100x better and faster and provides much more control of what you are doing for me. I was loaned a Flex from a detailing supplier, used it on 2 cars, and didn't want to give it back.

I can't justify the price tag just yet, seeing as how my 7424 works perfectly, but when it starts to fade, I'm gonna be all over the Flex.

Old 05-14-2009, 11:59 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I've got both a PC 7424 and a DeWalt rotary. I have friends who have a Flex. I think you'll find the Flex to be about half way between the PC and a rotary where it comes to correction ability. Remember though that the Flex has had some problems of its own (backing plates I believe), so it's not totally worry free either. There is talk of a new PC 7424 XL (or something like that) coming out very soon. It's supposed to be a heavier duty version of the PC. So, depending on how much you use it, that may be an option too.

Old 05-14-2009, 08:58 PM
Between a G100, 7424, and a Flex, I prefer the Flex. I only use the G100 when applying glaze.

What issue are you talking about with the backing plate, 2stroked? I've had the black plastic in the backing plate melt into pieces on me before. I think I overheated it

Old 05-15-2009, 12:31 AM
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts