Changing bearings in front....is it hard?

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2006, 06:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Changing bearings in front....is it hard?

I've never done it before and was wondering if it was difficult to do.
Are there two bearings per wheel or one?
I have a 1993 XLT 2 wheel drive with the 302 moving it along.

I am also thinking of changing the rotors (they are warped) and pads. If anyone has suggestions from autozone or advance auto, please let me know.

Thanks in advance!

Old 07-20-2006, 07:32 PM
From what I understand it's not too hard, but I still need to do it.

Old 07-21-2006, 12:24 AM
I have a '97 4x2 SCab so I don't know if yours are exactly like mine, but they are not difficult if you're prepared. As with most vehicles (except my F-150) the disc slides off if the lug bolts and bearing assembly. On my F-150 the hub assembly is an integral part of the disc assembly therefore I cannot replace one without the other. This is the difference between $40 for a new disc and $150 for new disc/hub, inner and outer bearings (with races and grease seals). If you've got an afternoon to do it for the first time and are willing to get a little greasy it's not hard.

And there are 2 bearings per side (innner and outer).

I hope this helps.

Old 07-21-2006, 03:28 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Indeed, on a scale of 1-10, with 1 being changing a fuse and 10 being a transmission rebuild, wheel bearings on your 2wd are about a 2.5.

Make sure you learn how to properly pack the grease in teh new bearings, or buy a bearing packer from the local auto parts store. It's not difficult to do, but if done improperly, is almost as bad as not greasing them.

-Joe

Old 07-21-2006, 08:13 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post