Timing question

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2002, 07:02 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Timing question

Can these newer f150s be off on there timing? If so what would the truck be acting like? My truck is slow to start and has a slight hesitation between pressing on the gas and acceleration, it also has a knock sound sometimes at start up. Im no mechanic but hopefully someone can understand what I am trying to explain.

Old 06-03-2002, 01:29 PM
for the knock make sure you have the correct oil filter, for instance a Fram filter will sometimes cause knock at start up. Also do a search on "Piston Slap"

You cannot adjust timing on these trucks. Try resetting the computer, once reset start the truck and let it idle for a while to set itself up then take it for a 20min drive and try to cover all conditions (IE highway,stop and go etc.)

If you still have the problem after 2 more tanks of gas after the reset you should have someone check the crank position sensor and make sure your throttle cable is adjusted properly

good luck-

Old 06-03-2002, 06:21 PM
I would first look at the fuel you are using.... Maybe try a grade higher if your using 87 or a different gas staion if you are consistantly going one place....

Lookat the easy things first...

Old 06-03-2002, 07:52 PM
If you talking about cam timing, yes they can be off and just a little will cause a world of driveability problems. The thing is, that it's not really possible for it to be off unless someone has had the chains off (like a leaky head gasket job). We have had a few mechanics in our shop put them together by the book and the cam on one side be retarded a little. Its such a problem that when i called the hotline about it, they faxed me a hand written and drawn sheet to help in timing them correctly.

Old 06-04-2002, 09:00 PM
Question

Thanks for the replies, if the cam timing was off , what way were the trucks acting up like?

Old 06-05-2002, 08:09 PM