CEL right after i filled gas??

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2001, 09:15 PM
Location: Michigan Sex Industry, MI. [you want it, we got it]
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy CEL right after i filled gas??

Hi guys,
I am new to this truck and its issues. Lert me explain. I just bought the truck last week and the engine bay was very dirty. So i degreased the engine with some degreaser after carefully covering the distributors and the intake! The truck ran fine for the remaining part of the day. The next day i fill some gas and right after, on the freeway, the truck starts to shudder every time i gas her. Stopped and saw water pouring out the exhaust. Not normal even considering condensation. So i checked for oil pressure, levels, opened the radiator to check if it was the head gasket. But everything seems to be ok. I journey with the CEL on for abt 120 miles by which time gas goes down and the truck seems to be letting up on its shuddering. I stop at home and d/c battery, plug it back in again and CEL seems to have disaapeared alongwith the shuddering. I still get it once in a while now, not as often as before. What is happening?? I dont want to waste 100 bucks for a dealer to diagnose that its just the gas or something very simple.

I need help!

Thx for any help or suggestions!

Old 11-25-2001, 11:15 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Is your Gas cap on tight?

Old 11-25-2001, 11:18 PM
I'll bite, what's CEL?

Oh wait, Check Engine Light. Doh, I got it!

Wouldn't hurt to get it checked if it keeps happening. Double check all connections that might have gotten wet. Or water in the air box etc.

Old 11-26-2001, 01:18 AM
Originally posted by FamilyRide
I'll bite, what's CEL?

Oh wait, Check Engine Light. Doh, I got it!

Wouldn't hurt to get it checked if it keeps happening. Double check all connections that might have gotten wet. Or water in the air box etc.