05 running rough with wet smoke

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2011, 11:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
05 running rough with wet smoke

Hello all. I am new to site. My 05 is sick. As I was driving it started running rough with what seemed like a missfire. The CEL came on eventualy and started blinking. Being only four blocks from home, I limped it home. It smelled realy caty. Not like rotten eggs, just very strong. I pulled the codes and got the following-P2198, catalyst, evap,02sensor,02htr, ready- misfire, fuel. The truck has 86000on it. I just read the stuck injector issue for the 05s. There is lots of wet smoke comming from the exhaust. Inrder to restart itI have to give it a little throttle. I pulled the plugs- spent. Installing HT1 motocraft. Unfortunetly, My soaking the plugs was only partialy successful-broke two. I havent finshed with the plugs and am concerned about restarting the truck. Do ou think this might be a injector problem, plug issue or COP issue? Any input would be appreciated. This is the 5.4 3v. Thanks.

Old 10-21-2011, 11:35 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Welcome.....

HT1's are not motorcraft they're autolites.......the only plug this motor likes is the motorcraft sp507 or sp515....

Switch to thethem motorcraft plugs and take it in have and get the injectors checked.....

Orielly's carries the motorcraft spark plugs .....

Last edited by 88racing; 10-21-2011 at 11:41 PM.
Old 10-21-2011, 11:44 PM
Thanks for the help. I will change the plugs. What is causing the white wet smoke? At first, I thought there may have ben a intake manafold leek at the water crossover. Any ideas? Hay 88-dose that car in your sig hae hydrolics or bd shocks?

Last edited by THUMPER 01; 10-21-2011 at 11:48 PM.
Old 10-21-2011, 11:59 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Originally Posted by THUMPER 01