Ethanol F150 ?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2006, 11:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ethanol F150 ?

I saw on MSNBC.com some Ford vehicles are listed as "Ethanol-ready". One of the vehicles listed is "5.4L F-150 (Available in December 2005)". Being the internet, I wanted to first validate that this is true? Is this a special package, of some sort, or is it all of this particular vehicle type?

Beyond that, does anyone have any experience with a personally owned Ethanol run F-150? I know there are government and companies that do things like this, but I would like insight from an individual.

If anyone is lucky enough (with current gas prices) to be doing this, could you please share your lessons?

Thank You!
madmaxmutt

Old 05-09-2006, 02:48 AM
If you go to the FORD web site they list all their Flex Fuel vehicles, and the F-150 is on the list.

Other than that, I have no personal experience.

Last edited by Kool Aid; 05-09-2006 at 02:03 PM.
Old 05-09-2006, 07:12 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I don't have personal experience, but I looked into this after seeing a news report a couple of days ago. I googled "ford flex fuel" and found a site called fueleconomy.gov which has mileage and cost figures for running flexfuel vehicle on both gas and ethanol. On all vehicles the mileage was 25-30% less running on ethanol and the average fuel cost per year was higher than running gas. The F150 is on the list.

Old 05-09-2006, 10:47 AM
Thumbs down

The only one I know of is a 2006 F150 midwest edition. Other than that I can find nothing in my owners manual or anything to support what that website is saying.

Old 05-09-2006, 02:10 PM
Originally Posted by charm5496
The only one I know of is a 2006 F150 midwest edition. Other than that I can find nothing in my owners manual or anything to support what that website is saying.
What is the web site saying, that you can't find info on?