Need performance advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2005, 06:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need performance advice

I'm new here and have spent the last few hours reading through many posts. I was actually hoping to find a sticky or something on this. I'm sure all of you regulars hate when the noobs come on and ask the same question. If the info is posted, I couldn't find it in search. I'm also new to Ford and F150 so I really do need help.

I just bought a 94 F150 4WD Short bed w/302ci automatic. The previous owner had put the K&N intake in it but it looks like that was it and hadn't done anything else as far as maintenance in a very long time. The first thing I did was a routine tune up replacing the plugs, wires, dist cap, rotor button, PVC valve, fuel filter and serviced the K&N filter.

Can anyone help me (point me to a link or whatever) with what I can do to a a little hp to this truck? It doesn't seem too bad since the tune-up but it struggles going over mountains with no load, constantly dropping down in gear. On flat ground, it seems to have decent pickup. Maybe it's just a problem with the shifting, is that a common problem with this vehicle? Also, when I take off from a stop, there's a lot of clunking noise? Any ideas on that - is it common?

Very sorry for the noob questions and I sure appreciate your patience. -Joe

Old 11-04-2005, 06:28 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
the clunking is probably either u-joints or motor/transmission mounts.

As to a performance upgrade, add a Turbonator thingy! I am just kidding.

But seriously, how much money do you have to spend?

There are a lot of things to do to a 302, some cheaper than others...

Old 11-04-2005, 06:42 PM