'97 4.2L- No power in 4th gear?!

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2004, 07:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question '97 4.2L- No power in 4th gear?!

Hello,
I noticed recently that my '97 F150 4.2L 5spd has good acceleration (or as I call it "pick up" all the way into 3rd gear, once you hit around 40mph, your foot can be on the floor, and you barely pick up speed. I was in Overdrive, doing about 55mph, going up a slight hill, my foot was on the floor, and we were staying steady at 55mph. Only thing I am aware of is that my cousin, whom I bought it from 2-3months ago, said "Its low geared for towing" and I havent gotten a hold of him recently. Any ideas what this means? Do I need my sparkplugs checked? Fuel filter? Any input appreciated. Im new to owning a vehicle, my parents both own 93 and older vehicles so they have no idea what they're talking about. Thanks in advance for any input.
-M

Old 10-04-2004, 12:58 AM
You could have something as simple as a plugged fuel filter or possibly low fuel pump pressure. A gas filter is a cheap place to start, people have a bad habit of not changing them often enough and when they get plugged it really hinders top end performence. Both of my trucks need to have them replaced often.

Old 10-06-2004, 12:48 AM
Hey,
Thanks for the input - any idea how to check it? I have no idea where its at. All I know is that on my parents old van, it was inside the gas tank and a pain to get at. I have a '97 4.2L F150.
Thanks again!
-M

Old 10-07-2004, 12:49 AM
On my 96 f150 its on the drivers side frame about in the middle of the truck. It does take a special tool to remove it from the high pressure fuel line. they are pretty cheap and can be found at most part stores like autozone or whatever. Good luck, Mike

Old 10-17-2004, 03:26 AM
Hey,