Poorer Gas Milage / PCV vavle

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2004, 08:53 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Poorer Gas Milage / PCV vavle

I am new to the world of working on engines and these are the questions that I currently have.

1) What is a PCV valve?
2) Where is it located?
3) How often should it be replaced?
4) Would a PCV valve go bad or start to operate at less then 100% if I travel on dirt roads often?
5) Would a poorly functioning PCV valve cause poor gas mileage and rough idling?

The reason I am asking this question is a engine repair guy I know was bragging (He is a Chevy guy.) that my Trident 5.4L is going to DIE because of a $13 part called a PCV valve.

My truck: (currently getting 12mpg highway)
1) 2003 F-150 Crew Cab 4x4
2) 18,000 miles
3) 5.4L V8

My brother’s truck: (currently getting 11mpg highway)
1) 2002 F-150 Super Cab 4x4
2) 19,500 miles
3) 5.4L V8

If you have any suggestions as to why our trucks are driving like there is a hole in the gas tank, please let me know.

Last edited by k_day64; 05-14-2004 at 08:56 PM.
Old 05-14-2004, 09:35 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Re: Poorer Gas Milage / PCV vavle

Originally posted by k_day64
I am new to the world of working on engines and these are the questions that I currently have.

1) What is a PCV valve?
2) Where is it located?
4) Would a PCV valve go bad or start to operate at less then 100% if I travel on dirt roads often?
5) Would a poorly functioning PCV valve cause poor gas mileage and rough idling?

1) What is a PCV valve?

PCV is the abbreviation for Positive Crankcase Ventilation.
Fresh air is mixed with combustion blow by gases and routed through the PCV to the throttle body to go through the combustion process again. It function is to reduce hydrocarbon emissions and I think it also removes explosive gases from the crankcase.

2) Where is it located?

On my 1999 F150 5.4L triton (trident?) engine...

60,000 or 48 months.

Its possible.