Question about replacing radiator hoses.

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2007, 04:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question about replacing radiator hoses.

I've never replaced the radiator hoses on my 99 F150. I don't see any leaks, but after 8 years, it's probably time to change them. Is it pretty straightforward? It looks easy and i want to try it but i'm no mechanic. Is there a certain order of removing the hoses i should focus on? Any tips? Thanks.

Old 08-06-2007, 08:55 PM
start with the lower, and have a large drain pan under it.

Old 08-07-2007, 12:35 AM
The coolant is fairly new. Do i need to replace it? Should i buy OEM hoses or are there aftermarket hoses that might be better?

Old 08-07-2007, 06:24 AM
Why replace them for the sake of replacing them, especially the cost of the bottom hose, I believe it's expensive. If they are in good shape, leave em, but if you do change them, re-install with a Tridon screw tight clamp as the factory pinch ones are a pain. Also, for the cost of new anti-freeze, hook up with some new stuff, why not.

Old 08-07-2007, 07:00 AM
I agree with BLUE. Don't go trying to fix something that isn't broken, especially if you're not mechanically inclined.

IF you've decided to replace the hoses anyway, make sure you get new clamps to secure them. Also, make sure you have a razor blade or boxcutter handy. If the hoses are frozen in place, slit the hose at the connection being sure not to gouge the metal underneath, and then peel it away. DO NOT try to use pliers to twist them off or you can damage the connector VERY easily.

Don't get cheap hoses, either. The stock ones lasted this long, so you don't want to spend all that time and money on a new one that's going to give you a headache down the road. Buy OEM or at least a decent name brand like Goodyear.