park/neutral safety switch?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2011, 02:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
park/neutral safety switch?

I have been having problems with the truck lately wanting to start...It never wants to start in park and only sometimes will start in neutral after some switching back and forth.
My more recent problem is sometimes it wont go into park...i turn the truck off, let my foot off the brake and it starts rolling.
from what i have read i assume the neutral safety switch although I am not sure. Is this my problem? If so, should i replace it or is there an adjustment on it? My indicator doesnt line up with my gears very well either.
I much appreciate any ideas.

I have a 1997 F150 with the 4.6L, auto transmission (not sure what tranny...not sure how to find out)

when it comes to transmissions, i am a complete newb and am completely lost. any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 02-12-2011, 10:14 PM
Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
The switch is now called the Transmission Range Sensor (TRS.) It cannot be the problem of not going into park.

Is your shifter handle loose and sloppy? There are two bolts underneath the steering column that holds the shifter tube to the column. These are known to loosen. This will make it hard to find the right gear, hard to find the right spot to get it to start, and hard to get it in park.

You have a 4R70W transmission. That was the only automatic that came with the 4.6L engine.

Old 02-13-2011, 10:07 AM
Received 104 Likes on 97 Posts
In addition to the two Torx-headed bolts loosening, there are bushings in the shift tube that wear out and cause excessive play in the shifter linkage.

Excessive play in the shift linkage will keep the shift lever from placing the transmission fully into PARK which will also prevent the transmission from starting when you think it's in PARK.

Old 02-13-2011, 10:15 AM
Global Moderator &

Received 134 Likes on 112 Posts
https://www.f150online.com/forums/ar...inter-fix.html