Towing & Hauling

F150 Fx4 Supercrew 4x4 towing question

Old 06-07-2016, 08:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
F150 Fx4 Supercrew 4x4 towing question

Hello from a total newbie when it comes to hauling a trailer. We have a 2006 F150 Fx4 Supercrew 4x4 with a 5.4 Triton engine. We just bought a 35ft Keystone Outback travel trailer. The dry weight of the trailer is 7300lbs. We had added the weight distribution system and the anti-sway bar as well as the required brake control to the F150. Our maiden voyage will be driving from North Carolina to Indiana across the West VA mountains. Some of our friends are telling us they are "scared" for us that the truck won't make it. And of course now I am freaking out. My husband says that we will be fine as long as we don't push it and drive smart. I wish I was as confident. I need some advice. Is he correct or are our friends correct? We are supposed to leave in two weeks. Help. I am a nervous wreck.
Thanks

Old 06-07-2016, 09:22 PM
You should be perfectly fine, you've added the trailer brake system to help with slowing you down, as well as the proper towing system (hitch and anti-sway) set-up.

You didn't mention whether the truck came with the towing package? It includes additional transmission cooling, if it DOESN'T have the factory tow package, it would be a good investment to add an add-on transmission cooler because of the extra load.

THAT SAID, I'm confident your husband would've added one if it wasn't on the truck already. My 2003 FX4 came with the factory towing package

Old 06-08-2016, 12:44 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
You'll be overweight on the truck for sure, because I'll bet you aren't gonna be taking a 'dry' trailer on that trip..

Question is how do you feel about being overweight? Some don't mind and other's won't have anything to do with it..