Towing & Hauling

Tow/haul mode....again

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2011, 07:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tow/haul mode....again

I'm new to towing. I just picked up our "camper trailer" the other day. This isn't the kind that most people here seem to have. This one weighs about 1000lb. It's a total of 13ft long. Don't know how many people know what these are but it's a modern version of a teardrop trailer. Teardrops were popular in the 40's I guess.

So anyhow, picked up the trailer from a place that is 50 or so miles from where I live. Because it was my first time towing, I took surface streets untill I got to the point that I just wanted to get home. The truck towed fine on the surface streets. No issues. When I got on the highway though....

My truck is a V6. I choose a trailer that weighed far less than Ford says I can tow. When I was going up inclines on the highway, at about 60-65mph, there was a shudder. It would let up if I lifted off the throttle. I've done a lot of searching for answers, and found that shudders aren't all that uncommon. I would guess it's the torque converter.

We've got this tow/haul mode. Am I supposed to be using this even for my light weight trailer? I guess I'll have to try, but I was hoping to get 20mpg towing this little trailer. Don't know if I'll be able to do that in tow/haul mode.

I didn't check the trans temp. It was pouring rain all the way home. Could barily see a car length in front of me. I was doing my best to make sure I got this new trailer home in one piece.

We'll be headed up to Vermont next week. It'll get about a four hour drive. I'll be able to gather more information about what it does then. Untill then, what's your opinion, tow/haul mode for a 1k trailer?

Last edited by wittom; 08-11-2011 at 08:44 PM.
Old 08-11-2011, 10:34 AM