Towing & Hauling

New And Need A Little Advice Etc

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2006, 02:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile New And Need A Little Advice Etc

Hi All

Just bought a F-150 Ranch Supercab 4x4 with a 5.4 tri (2002)

Just checking on the towing ability of this unit? I read a few charts and I don't have the book to find out the rear end (355 etc) and what it able to pull.

I believe it has the tow package (hitch and wiring present) don't know about the tranny cooler still have to check.

I have been towing for about 15 yrs with F150's-250-350 (used to have a 32ft travel trailer) 5800 dry and about 7100 loaded.

The F150 with proper motor is good to pull short distance (50 mile reasonable speeds and level ground) but any more distance than that I would fear that damage could result.

Anyone willing to give me some data if you have it? Thanks Gary

Old 05-27-2006, 09:36 AM
I think that the Scab with a tow package was rated to 7500 lbs. As I recall, the Scab rating was lower than the 7700 rating.

As far as towing.....if the trailer/load is properly distributed (and not overloaded) towing long distance is not a problem. My longest trips with this f-150 have only been 1000 miles, but these are through the Texas hill country pulling my 72 mach 1. Although not a 7000 lb travel trailer, if you are not in too big a hurry, it can be done.

Old 05-28-2006, 06:40 PM
adt
I highly recommend changing your gears to 4:10's. It really makes getting the load started much easier, and at highway speeds you'll cruise at around 400 rpms higher than before, so you're not using too much more gas. That along with a good air intake and exhaust system, you're truck will pull more than think. I pull almost 9000# with boat & trailer many times during the summer and once a year to CA. Not going to win any races but it pulls just fine. Of course the blower does help a bit to.
https://www.f150online.com/galleries....cfm?gnum=7238

Last edited by adt; 05-28-2006 at 06:43 PM.