4" Wear & Tear & other questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2010, 01:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4" Wear & Tear & other questions

I'm completely new to the suspension game, heck to the customizing/modification game in general. I've researched on this site for a while and haven't found the exact answers i want yet, so here it goes...

How much wear and tear will a 4" lift cause to components such as cv's and other joints (u/l ca's)?

Is it recommended to change these components?

Will they wear faster with a lift?

I'm looking at the Rancho 4" lift with 295/65/20 Trail Grapplers on stock 20" rims. I know the RC 4" lift will not accomodate the stock 20's but it is a cheaper lift. Would spacers be an option with the RC or should I just save more for the Rancho?

What about Trailmaster? I know its more complete but is the driveline well made? Will Trailmaster accomodate my stock 20's (having trouble finding this info on their website?

I also don't want a bunch of squat when hauling/towing, so will this occur with a 4" lift?

Then there is regearing. If I have 3.73 already then it seems that that gearing would be good up to 35" tires (which is all I would ever want, due to tire cost)?

Any other info/tips/opinions are certainly welcome. However, i don't want a 6 inch lift or taller tires...

Thanks in advance, I appreciate your time and patience...

Old 08-19-2010, 10:30 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
The lift will not increase wear and tear. It's the increase in tire size that causes the increase in wear due to the added leverage and weight. Keep in mind that while this is an issue, it's not as bad as it first sounds. What I'm saying is that I would much rather buy a used truck that had a lift and 37 inch tires that has been pampered than a stock truck that has been beaten and abused. See what I'm saying?
Trailmaster doesn't have the best reputation. Personally, I wouldn't buy one.