Sub and amp help - what to buy and how much used?

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2012, 06:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sub and amp help - what to buy and how much used?

I am brand new to this - I know nothing about ohms, brands, cost or anything. I've been reading on here for a few days now.

I just bought a used 2003 Super Cab. They guy before me had a new stereo installed and a custom box with 2 12" on top of the back seat. He kept the subs and box and amp when he sold me the truck, and now the stereo sounds very high pitched as there is no bass in the car anymore. The other speakers are stock.

I do a lot of wood working, so building a box is no problem. I don't have a very big budget, so I'm shopping used on Craigslist. I learned from reading a bunch of threads on here that I want shallow mount and I probably want 2 -10". I don't need competition level sound. I just want to hear it above the hum of my 36" mudders on the freeway

So here are my questions
What are some brands/models I should look for on craigslist? What should I expect to pay?

I read a lot of people like the Alpine type R. What would a used pair of those cost (roughly - I know it will depend)? I found one pair on my local craigslist with no price. I texted the guy and he said "make me an offer".

Same question about amps. Brand/model and what should I pay?

How can I tell if the speakers and amp are any good when I go to pick them up?

Maybe it's easier for me to post a couple things I've found and you tell me if the speakers are any good and if the price is fair.

Thanks!

Old 10-18-2012, 08:10 PM
Definitely would be easier to find things and post them.

If you want under the seat subs, you'll either want 2 10's, 2 12's, or 1 12". Depends on the sub, for an underseat box you'll most likely be able to get .65ish cf per each sub at the most, so you'll definitely want shallow mount, and a sub that can work good in small sealed boxes (check manufacture specs).