question about bridging my sub

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2007, 09:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
question about bridging my sub

I am kinda new to this I had my sub in my truck but I didn't have it bridged at the amp. Now I am wondering if I have to rewire the sub to hook it up to the amp bridged. The sub itself has 4 places to put wires and it is a JVC 12in Warren G addtion that I got used from a kid at work. I don't have any of the papers so no luck there.

Old 02-06-2007, 09:28 PM
Global Moderator &

Received 134 Likes on 112 Posts
subscribing to thread.....

Old 02-06-2007, 09:59 PM
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
How is it wired up now?

4 places to put wires, Im assuming you mean DVC (It has 2 positives, and 2 negative, correct?
And, after looking at that sub, it looks like its only available in 4 ohm DVC versions, so FIRST off, is your amp stable at 2 ohm bridged? If not (not a whole lot are, mostly higher end amps) then you will have to wire it for 8 ohm, and only get half the power that amp puts out when its bridged.

If thats the case, you arent going to gain any power by running it at 8 ohms bridged, compared to one voice coil on each channel at 4 ohm, which is the way it sounds like you have it wired up right now.

Anyway, to wire the sub, you will need to connect one of the positives, to the negative of the other voice coil. Then the remaining positive nad negative go to the possitive and negative of the amp.
That will give you 8 ohm.

IF you amp is stable to 2 ohm bridged, then you can wire boths positives to the possitive of the amp, and both negatives to the negative of the amp. You will get 2 ohm then.

What is the amp?

Last edited by Bartak1; 02-06-2007 at 10:04 PM.
Old 02-06-2007, 10:38 PM
Global Moderator &

well bartak if you dont mind helping me too....