Teach a newbie about component speakers

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2003, 10:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Teach a newbie about component speakers

Hey guys,
I'm getting a truck pretty soon and I'm going to have lots of questions about the system install. After reading a lot of posts here I've decided that I need componet speakers in the front doors (99 SC XLT). I dont get how/where to mount the tweets. I assume the driver goes in the stock speaker position but I see from some of your pics that the tweets can be mounted pretty much anywhere, although I've gatherd that near the drivers is best. So how do you mount it if there isn't a spot already for it? do you have to mess up the upholstry on the door?

Also, I see that components have a little crossover. Where does that go? In the door or by the amp?

Sorry bout the simple questions... I'm still learning.

-Marshall

Old 09-03-2003, 11:15 PM
First off, most tweets use 3M tape to stick whereever you want to stick them where they have the audio field that you want.

Second, it does not really matter where you put the crossovers, I would put them somewhere that would be fairly easy to access (not inside the door) in case you have to do some modification to it after you listen to the system for a while.

-edited for siggy.

Old 09-04-2003, 03:29 AM
Tweeter placement is dependent upon the speakers design. Component speakers are designed for either on-axis or off-axis response. On-axis speakers are designed to place the tweeter directly toward you & off-axis is designed to go in the stock location (i.e. door).

If you get a set of on-axis speakers, you should place the tweeter where it sounds best to you.

Old 09-04-2003, 08:21 AM