Pre-1997 Models

Thunder Truck Build

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2016, 12:15 AM
BSL
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thunder Truck Build

Well I'm finally getting around to building up my hunting truck, so figured I'd start a build thread. ***Disclaimer*** This will be a slow and steady process as I work in construction and don't have much free time in the summer. Personally I would be happy to be complete by this time next year. So if you're looking for immediate before/after, come back in about a year. Why call it Thunder Truck you ask? That nickname was given to the truck by my little brother when he was about 8. I had one exhaust manifold that rusted through and so it was extremely loud for a long time, not because it was cool, but because I was a broke high school kid spending his money on beer and girls. Now on to the fun part . . .

I will be combining 2 trucks into 1. Truck #1 is my first vehicle, owned it since 1998, hasn't been driven much in the last 8 years. 1984 F150 XLT 4x4 regular cab 8' box has had a few different motors but currently has a decent 351W with a C6 behind it.

Truck #2 is a 1990 F350 Custom 4x4 regular cab flatbed with 4.10 gears has a 7.3 IDI diesel that seems to be in pretty dire need of quite a few gaskets, tranny is shot. Picked it up for $1200, hopefully a good deal once I sell off some of the parts.Seems like you can hardly pick up a good set of 1 ton axles for that, has a D60 with king pins so thats a plus.