Pre-1997 Models

SAS or body swap

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2016, 10:01 PM
BSL
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
SAS or body swap

All right, so I'm finally getting around to building my hunting/camping rig. It is an 84 4x4 single cab long box f150 with a 351W and a C6. it has rust in the normal places on the fenders and minor on the corners of the cab, but not bad for a MN/ND truck, at least most of it would be gone with the addition of cut out fender flares. Soooo . . . my initial plans for it are to throw a solid axle in the front with a mild lift of 4-6" and 35s which seems do able from the info I've found on fullsize bronco. I'm a hobby mechanic and novice welder, but I see this more as a project to work on with my son while both of us learn through experience.

However when out driving in the country I found a F350 single cab long box that is a 89/90 ish model (ugly square front between my 84 and the style of the 95s). It doesn't have an engine and from the quick driveby i did in the dark I would say the tranny is gone too since driveshaft is on ground. This truck would have pretty much all the parts I need or I could just swap the cab for mine since it looks better rust wise. My gut tells me this is the cheaper and stronger option. What do you think?

Last edited by BSL; 04-07-2016 at 10:10 PM.
Old 04-07-2016, 10:09 PM
BSL
This is not a DD so there is no concern on the timeframe. Some pros and cons for just swapping the body and putting in engine and tranny

Pro
Probably easier though if 90 is diesel will be a mess of parts swapping since I'd like to stick with 351w I have
Likely stronger suspension being all stock than I could make with my beginner welding skills
F350 frame vs F150 frame

Con
won't get to build up a truck I've had for over half of my life but would spend more time driving in the woods with my kid
Not sure what to do with the 84, guess I could put the cab back on and try to sell it