Pre-1997 Models

93 F150 4.9 2WD recomendations please

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2000, 12:16 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 93 F150 4.9 2WD recomendations please

Hello All,
Newbie here, and I would greatly appreciate any guidance and recommendations you all may be able to provide.
I would like to improve the performance of my 93 F150 4.9 2WD AOD truck. 81K miles. Great shape but mileage isn't the best.
I have just started looking into the endless array of products available to improve performance, and I hoped I could get a few recommendations and opinions.
I'm not looking make a hot rod, I just want to try and improve my MPG's.
I looked at the K&N air filters and the K&N F/I performance KIT.
question 1: the filter alone is about $40 and the KIT $180. Is the Kit really worth the additional $140.00 for my situation ? (just want to improve MPG's)
question 2: I am also thinking about a muffler or exhaust system. Many to choose from. Any recommendations ? I dont care about something that's flashy, just want something that works good and last a long time ?
question 3: I will be pulling my boat a couple times a year now. Weight is approx 4000 lbs. Dont know the tongue weight but guess it to be around 500 to 600 lbs. I pulled it last year 2 times, (100 miles) and the truck did ok, but I dont want to push my luck. I'm thinking about "ADD A LEAF" springs or air shocks. Any thoughts / comments on these options ?
Thank you all for any advice.
Dennis,

Old 03-12-2000, 10:57 AM
Mileage is just one of the things that aftermarket mods do. The FIPK probably helps best, I have heard of it increasing mpg's by around 4 or so. An exhuast also helps, but not sure of the increases it makes. The next thing would be the superchip. Although you have to run 92 octane, it should increase your mpg's by 1-5.

Old 03-13-2000, 10:49 AM
Hey Jetmech,