Pre-1997 Models

96 F150 just clicks

Old 02-04-2006, 12:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
96 F150 just clicks

Hi,

I have an intermittent problem when I try to start my f150 ('96) truck. When I turn the key to start the engine, 50 percent of the time now I just get a clicking noise, and it does not turn over. I'm not a mechanic. Could not tell you where exactly the noise comes from.

I had the problem a year or so ago. Changed the serpentine belt. The problem seemed to gradually go away.

About 4 months ago the problem started again. I haven't driven the truck for most of the winter. Based on what I have read here, it seems that the problem could be related to a number of areas, ie, cable connecting to positive post, starter itself, or selenoid. (But I understand that the selenoid is healthy because it clicks). I've tried wiggling cables, dis/reconnecting cables, and voodoo, but can't seem to resolve it.

Eventually it does start. It is just a pain running out to the truck after work or during a rain, based on murphy's law of course, that the problem will happen.

One thing that seems to allow it to start is when I turn the key over, wait until all of the internal lights, indicators, etc, have power then try to turn it over. When I do this, it starts right away about 70 percent of the time.

Any ideas for this weekend mechanic will be appreciated. Thanks,

Rob

Old 02-04-2006, 01:40 PM
check all the wires that go to the solenoid. Mine does that every once in awhile but if I just wiggle the wires a bit she starts right up. Just sounds like a bad connection is all.

Jim

Old 02-04-2006, 03:03 PM
The ground cable on these trucks tends to corrode out at the intermediate ground on the chassis. Take a look to see if yours is rotted through there.