Pre-1997 Models

1993 F-150 4.9L Questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2005, 01:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1993 F-150 4.9L Questions

I am a newb, and had some questions about my truck. First, what is the biggest tire size I can go on the stock suspension (4x4 w/out a lift)? Second, the truck has a bad vibration when I get to about 60 mph. It is real bad if I give it just a little throttle, but it is smooth at any speed lower than that. The truck is also throwing an EGR code. It doesn't run bad, but is there a way to by-pass this? Finally, are these good trucks? I am new at owning a Ford and just wondered if someone could help me out or let me know if these trucks are prone to anything in particular. Thank you guys.

Benji

Old 06-25-2005, 01:05 PM
oh yea

Welcome to the site and congrats on the new truck, dont get disheartened this early with your engine throwing a code. The 4.9 engine is pretty much bulletproof. Go to autozone or oreillys whatever you prefer and have them tell you what the code means and what can be done to fix it. In the front you can fit 31 x 10.50 tires with very little rub and in the rear if you wanted you could stuff in up to 35s. After you get the tires make sure you get it aligned properly or you will have uneven wear on your front tires and they will be a waste. As for the shudder an alignment may also fix your problem but you might want to look into your front tie rods and or drag links you could have bad joints.

Old 06-26-2005, 09:27 PM
all of it

hey man, your truck is great. i've got a 93 f-150 (albeit only 4x2). my uncle had my truck in 4x4 and it was tough. i've beat this poor guy up and he keeps on starting.

mine is throwing two codes at me right now. if you want to test the codes yourself code test is the place to go. i just got done checking mine with nothing more than some wire and a volt-meter.