Pre-1997 Models

New Member, some newbie questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2003, 03:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New Member, some newbie questions

Hey everyone!

Just joined, and have been spending the last few hours reading through several of the posts here. Great site!!! I'm new to the F150 world, but not to message forums.

I recently purchased a 1995 F150 XL 300 I-6 4x2 5-speed, and have been very pleased. I've had a few problems (Mostly with the clutch master cylinder), but overall the truck is very solid and dependable, exactly what I was looking for.

I have a few questions, however. Has anyone here had the plastic ring on the end of the clutch master cylinder snap? It happened on mine, which I found I had to replace the clutch master cylinder. I'm just wondering if this is a common occurance.

Secondly, the temperature gauge on the dash only functions periodically. 90% of the time it won't move at all, but sometimes (after the engine has been run for a while) it will jump up to normal temp. I'm thinking it's the coolant temperature sensor that's bad, any other thoughts?

I have been doing some routine maintenance on the truck (70,000 miles), and I bought a new PCV valve for it. I checked my Haynes manual, and the PCV valve is not where the book says it is.

Aside from the fuel filter, air filter, PCV valve, and drive belts, is there any other regualr maintenance items I should be aware of, or common areas of premature failure?

Thanks for your help, I think I have just found myself another home on the web.

Old 03-17-2003, 09:49 AM

Last edited by sunrunner_pei; 05-08-2003 at 12:30 PM.
Old 03-17-2003, 01:13 PM
TF
Welcome to the board sunrunner_pei....