Driveshaft Vibration?

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2003, 08:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Driveshaft Vibration?

2000 F-150 XLT, Flowmaster SIDO Exhaust, K&N FIPK, Transgo shift kit, 4.10 ring & pinion, 5.4 . I recently changed the ring & pinion from 3.55 to 4.10. The low end performance is awesome, the acceleration in all ranges is a marked improvement. However, since the changeout on the big end (over 100mph) a vibration developes and increases until I let off. Twice in a 8 day period the vibration caused the tailshaft housing seal to come out of the transmission. A real mess, easy to fix, but not worth the hassel of having to do it anytime I want to run it out. My thoughts are that the driveshaft is out of balance, due to the faster RPM's of the shaft, due to the changeout. This is only a guess, as I'm not a mechanic. Any input or suggestions would be much appreciated. Thank you very much.

Old 08-20-2003, 09:24 PM
Question

Was the vibration present before you changed the ratio? Did you change anything else on the truck when you changed the ratio (such as springs, tires, or body lift)? Do You have a (1) piece or (2) piece driveshaft between diff. and rear of transmission?

If you have a (2) piece driveshaft; there is a possibility that it is out of phase (thus throwing the balance off). Is there evidence that any of the orginal balance weights are now missing from the shaft?

If you still feel vibration is induced by the driveshaft--remove the shaft and take it to a certified Spicer (Dana) driveline rebuilder and have them check the balance at the RPM where you are having the problem. Look in the Yellow Pages under Truck Parts and Service for a Spicer Driveline distributor. Call distributor and ask if they have capability to balance your shaft. Is you shaft aluminum or steel? Be sure to take all u-joint caps with driveline when you have it balanced. I am a (former) Spicer driveline tech.