Total Newbie question

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2004, 10:48 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Total Newbie question

Guys completely new to the forums sorry if this has been beat to death. Hope I don't get flamed for asking such a newbie questions. Just got a 2004 F150 extended cab.

I want to keep my current cd/radio in the truck but want to upgrade the speakers some and add a subwoofer.

I found another thread about their being no output on the factory radio and needing a LOC (line output converter) in order to hook up a sub.

What i am trying to figure out is what wire goes into the LOC? Rear speaker wire? Would I be better served to get an amp and mount that under the seat and then run the sub off the amp? I have done some stero work on a buddies ranger but that was replacing the entire unit.

HELP and sorry if I am reposting a common question, thanks for helpng a newbie.

Richard

Old 12-07-2004, 12:14 PM
Re: Total Newbie question

Originally posted by Monroe duck
Guys completely new to the forums sorry if this has been beat to death. Hope I don't get flamed for asking such a newbie questions. Just got a 2004 F150 extended cab.

I want to keep my current cd/radio in the truck but want to upgrade the speakers some and add a subwoofer.

I found another thread about their being no output on the factory radio and needing a LOC (line output converter) in order to hook up a sub.

What i am trying to figure out is what wire goes into the LOC? Rear speaker wire? Would I be better served to get an amp and mount that under the seat and then run the sub off the amp? I have done some stero work on a buddies ranger but that was replacing the entire unit.

HELP and sorry if I am reposting a common question, thanks for helpng a newbie.

Richard