Lincoln Blackwood & Mark LT

New Blackwood Owner Here!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2003, 07:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Blackwood Owner Here!!!!!

Hi everyone. I have had my Blackwood for 1 month now and didn't know there was a message board for this truck. Looks like I have over 800 messages to catch up on. Anyways, I am a Ford engineer and just picked the truck up off the Ford executive driven resale lot. I couldn't pass up the price of $28,700 with only 15,000 miles on it. i can't believe it given its $54,000 sticker price 1 year ago. I see some cheaper on E-bay but cars generally sell cheaper on there being sight unseen.

Anyways, the Lincoln Blackwood program was part of my job responsibility and I visited the plant in the Kansas City area several times during its development and when it actually went into production. Never thought I'd own one some day given the high price though. I actually met with people from Magna Corp. while the box was being developed and everything. In other words I know a lot about this truck. A lot of which I probably shouldn't talk about given company secrets and all.

I have serial #37 and I think the first 100 or so were a little different than the rest. For instance, I do not have power folding mirrors. I think the first 100 did not have them. Mine also did not come with the removable carrier in the back. Also, do all the Blackwoods have Blackwood stitched in the seat backs or just the Neimen Marcus special edition ones. Again, mine does not have the stitching. I figure this low serial number may make it worth something someday, although I wish I had all the goodies.

Another cool thing about my particular truck is that it was used as a media vehicle before the truck went on sale. I have addresses stored in the GPS nav system of golf courses in California, Texas, Arkansas, and other points of interest. It was a factory test vehicle converted to a sellable unit.