Connecting an MP3 to the AUX input

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2009, 10:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Connecting an MP3 to the AUX input

I have a 2004 super crew with 6cd changer HU and want to connnect a basic MP3 player to the AUX input. I have seen pinouts for the connectors and I am wondering why you cannot just wire (solder) directly to the AUX analog inputs, a connection to an 1/8 inch minature jack. All this talk about PIE adapters, and the CAN bus.... Will selecting AUX not just pick up the inputs (4 wires, L&R + -). Is the HU expecting some sort of handshake with the PIE acting as a (CAN bus emulator)?

Has anybody ever tried?

Seems like it should be simple enough, but I am just an old school electrical engineer.

Bub

Old 05-20-2009, 06:20 PM
Cool

I did what you are trying to do, but I need some more information about what you are trying to do.
I have a Alpine Multi-Disk Player still installed in my unit.
The Alpine had originally had a FM Band transmitter built into it, but I wanted base-band audio signals instead. I removed the remote control interface box at the base of the cable coming from the Player. The FM Transmitter was defeated (removed), and the L,R Audio Output was isolated from the cable. At that point I added a chassis mount 3.5mm. stereo jack, and connected those leads to that jack. A stereo, 3.5mm. cable was ran from that jack to the "Aux" input of the receiver. It plays fine in my setup. I never really liked those FM units anyway since the band is pretty busy here in the NE.
I'll see if I have any pix's.

Old 05-20-2009, 06:33 PM