Tax time!

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2010, 01:11 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tax time!

So, who do you use? H&R block?
Do you do it your self?

Last year I think H&R really socked it to me, and after looking I am fairly sure I got charged $200-250 for having them file, and a "hidden" fee that I didn't see until it was too late for $100.

This year I am thinking of filing my self, only one job and nothing else to file/claim.
Should just be one form.

What does F-150 online use?

Old 12-14-2010, 01:19 PM
Global Moderator &

Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts
Use the Turbo Tax online or buy the basic Turbo Tax program. Very user friendly and makes it easy. I'm a CPA and I use their business program. Sounds like H&R Block took advantage of you.

Old 12-14-2010, 01:45 PM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
I use common sense and do it myself. Its free.

I consider tax places as one of those "lazy american" stereotypes. The same people who take their car to Jiffy lube for an oil change and dealerships for simple DIY service.

I guess then again I do have a manual transmission and consider automatics heresy

Old 12-14-2010, 01:47 PM

Old 12-14-2010, 02:06 PM
Two years ago, we used Jackson-Hewitt. We were happy with what we got back, as it was more than we really expected. Last year, we decided to use an actual tax accountant instead of Jackson-Hewitt or H&R. The cost to use the accountant was pretty much the same as Jackson-Hewitt. We were shocked when he told us how much we were gettin' back. We wound up gettin' a couple thousand dollars more in returns! Part of the reason we were so surprised is because my wife had been out of work for about 6 months and was only workin' part time for about 3 months. Worked out nice. We'll definitely be goin' back to the same guy this year.