What Chip is good for me?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2008, 02:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What Chip is good for me?

Hey I'm a complete noob when it comes to chips. I have 07 F150 V8 4.6L Regular 2wd with a magnaflow exhaust system and K&N CAI. I'm in the market for a chip but have no clue what is best for me. I have been reading around the forum and noticed that the edge has an abundent amount of errors and i'm not interested in errors. Also people mention "tunes" no idea what those are so someone please drop any valuable information by here.
Thanks, and much appreciation!

Last edited by KKen; 04-12-2008 at 03:05 PM.
Old 04-12-2008, 03:46 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the forum KKen

Hi K, what you got to do is your noob homework; big news to be had by using the search, because it goes way back, like Mr. Peabody

but my personal recommendation is TP

Old 04-12-2008, 03:52 PM
The best tunes you can get are custom tunes written specifically for your truck and even better if you get it tuned on a dyno. Most people on this forum get there custom tunes from Troyer Performance, VMP tuning, or Powerhungryperformance. Your best bet is to contact each one and find which one best fits your needs if you want custom tunes. Make sure you tell them you are a F150online member. There is plenty to read on this forum. I am sure there will be plenty of people here to give there opinion on where to get your tunes but it is your decision where you spend your money.

Kevin

Old 04-12-2008, 04:30 PM
Thanks for the welcome JP. My cousin can get me a Cortex superchip for $420.00. Will TP do the tune for it if I didn't buy from them? And how much will this custom tune cost? Khindle is there any chip that is a better base model or does it solely rely on the cusotm tune?

Last edited by KKen; 04-12-2008 at 04:38 PM.
Old 04-12-2008, 04:50 PM
Dude, You sound like you have jumped into the boat that I just jumped out of.

Welcome to the forum!!