Got Them

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2001, 01:58 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Got Them

Hey Guys this is my first time posting here, though I have been a avid reader of the site ever since I bought my 2000 5.4. Well after reading how much fun you guys are having with your superchips and fipk's I went and ordered them from the online store. They just arrived today. I am taking the day off work tomorrow to install them. After I am done I will post the results and let you guys know.

Old 05-24-2001, 10:29 AM
Hey Fowl,

Congratulations. I can't wait to get my chip next month. I've already installed the K&N FIPK and it's awesome. You'll feel the extra hp right away, and you'll also hear a nice rumble out of it when you give it a little gas.

Old 05-24-2001, 02:26 PM
Former Sponsor
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Hi Fowl,

Congratulations!

It's a great feeling to be able to spend a few hours putting a couple of simple inexpensive bolt-on parts on your vehicle, and be able to enjoy a significant performance increase, that's enough to make any of us grin.

To answer your question, as long as you aren't getting any detonation (meaning whether you are hearing any "pinging", what is commonly referred to as "spark knock", or "detonation"), you'll be OK. You had 89 to start with, not 87, so that helps a bit.

What we normally recommend is to run the tank of regular down until you see the low fuel light come on, then fill it up with premium, and *then* install the Superchip. When the low fuel light first comes on, at that point you still have anywhere from 3 to as much as 6 gallons still in the system, so you're still going to get some "dilution" of the incoming higher octane fuel, but not enough to cause detonation unless the fuel quality is poor.