Don,t want no race truck!

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2001, 09:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Don,t want no race truck!

OK here's the deal. I've got a '99 f150 XLT 4x4, 4.6L, super cab, longbox, 60k miles, totally stock mechanically. All I want is noticably more power without sacrificing (and hopefully better) gas mileage. Not looking for a neck snapping tire burning screaming street predator. Just more power to go to the grocery store and pulling my camper without dropping in a bigger engine. So I quit thinking "shoulda got the 5.4". I'm thinkin, go ahead a spring for the k@n filter and a chip. The questions are as follows: (1)Does k@n just make one filter to fit my truck? (2) What do I want for a chip? What brand? Do I want a flip chip or otherwise? As you can tell I'm a novice, and I just want to do the right thing for my truck which I love. Any advice would be appreciated!
Thanks!

Old 04-30-2001, 09:45 PM
Thumbs up

For what you're asking for, the Superchip would be great.

K&N does make a drop in filter but if you're doing that for power gains etc. the FIPK does more. However, from what you describe you want, the chip would do the trick.

AS for the flip chip, with gas prices going higher, it may not be a bad thing, although you're likely to pay only about .20 a gallon more for the premium you'll need to run with the chip than regular no matter what price gas is. With the flip chip, you can flip back and forth between the Superchip standard program (premium fuel) and the factory program (reg. fuel) but the benefit to doing that vs. just popping the chip out is that with the factory program side of the flip chip, you'll still have the benefit of the greatly improved shifting. I think it's only about $100 more for the flip chip. Best thing is to call Mike Troyer. I'm sure he'll be replying to you soon.

------------------
2000 EDDIE BAUER EXPEDITION 4x2
  • Estate Green
  • 5.4 ltr
  • 3:55 LS rear
  • Superchip!
  • Airaid FIPK