Don't send your troops into battle without the proper equipment!

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2005, 12:53 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Update w/ PICS!! Don't send your troops into battle without the proper equipment!

Okay....so after buying my F150, I made the hasty mistake of looking for a forum and stumbled onto this this little land-mine. Now my personal finances and spare time are being seriously threatened by a sudden compulsion to detail my truck. Thanks a pantload.

Here's a list of the items I bought. I spent a week or 2 reading every website and every book at Barnes and Noble before making a menta list of supplies. Please give any product recommendation or application advice...I am a newb!
  • "Cherry Power"-Purple Powers version of car wash detergent. < $4/gal
  • "Meguiar's" Clay bar with 16oz detail spray and cleaner wax. $16.00
  • Turtle Wax paste polishing compound. $2.00
  • "Meguiar's Gold Class" clear coat paste car wax <$10
  • Orange Blast All Wheel Cleaner $3.50
  • Black Magic Tire Wet Foam $2.40
  • Turtle Wax chrome polish <$2.00
  • 2 MicroFiber 70/30 towels $3.60
  • 3 Baby Diaper Towels $4.80
  • Spotless Dryer MF towel $3.00
  • California squeegie (silicone) $20.00 ouch

I actually did my wife's car tonight, but I got out of work almost 2 hours late and was pushing the clock to get it done. Even with a hurried, amateur job....we both were amazed at the difference. The clay definitely helped....By God, I thought I should toss the clay after the hood was done!

My best purchase so far was the squeegie...its friggin great...gets rid of excess water like a dream and I can then dry to perfection with 1 dryer towel!

I could have spent more on a good polish, but figured that with the clay, and a the high quality wax, I should be fine. I can always suprise myself later with a better polish, but the grocery list was getting expensive!