What should I look for?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2010, 08:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What should I look for?

Hi, I'm new to Fords. I come from a GM background where Fords are mostly laughed at, but I'm looking for a new "look" and the F-150 is incredibly appealing to me for some reason. I've narrowed my choices of a new truck to either an F-150 XLT or a Toyota Tundra.

What should I look for when searching for an F-150. I mean that as in, what liter engine, what year models have the most and least problems, etc.

I am looking toward a 2010 or 2011 but are they reliable? What 'newer' years have the least amount of maintenance issues?

I'm not looking for something to pull with, I've got two other rigs for that, I want something that has some 'get-go' when I'm driving and need to pass someone, something that won't fall apart if I happen to race in it or drop some power in it threw a programmer/chip. Is this the truck I want? Again I'm new to Fords and I'm trying to get the mindset that they are horrible out of my mind but that is what I grew up hearing. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Old 09-19-2010, 12:29 PM
Anyone?

Old 09-20-2010, 10:28 AM
all of them are reliable. I would go for the 2011 just b/c of the 4 new engines that will be available (but that's b/c I have the 5.4). The 5.4 is a great motor its just that I'm excited about the new engines that I want one. I think the interior and the new features are far superior over Toyota and GM. I'm not sure if your serious or not but you may haven't received any answers b/c of your post and your post count, people probably think your b/s them.

Old 09-20-2010, 04:54 PM
I don't understand what I would be b/s'ing them about?