Will this amp be good enough?

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2003, 06:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Will this amp be good enough?

Im planning on getting a single RF 10" Punch Z sub. Will the US Acoustics USB-2150 be good? Crutchfield has it for $149 and it's dual channel so if I decide to upgrade later it can take that, hopefully.

Is it powerful enough? Crutchfield puts the sub at 50-150w RMS, and the amp 150x2@12.9v RMS at 4 ohms.

Thanks.

Old 11-01-2003, 07:57 PM
Plenty

Old 11-01-2003, 09:05 PM
thanks.

what is the minimum RMS wattage I should look at?

Im kinda new to the world of amps, so Im not exactly sure of how the power ratings work out.

would putting it in bridged mode be too much for the sub? in bridged mode it has 450x1 w RMS...

thanks again.

also, why is this amp so much cheaper than the other 150wx2 amps?

Last edited by Johngs; 11-01-2003 at 09:13 PM.
Old 11-02-2003, 01:42 AM
John,

Wattage ratings for the longest time have been the most abused rating in car audio. Many companies severely under rate their equipment while others do just the opposite and over rate them. The amp you are referring to probably does a more legitimate 150x2 peak and not RMS. This being the case is precisely why some companis charge so much more for an amp with seemingly less power than it's competition. I am sure you can see what I mean, and yes the saying still rings true "You get what you pay for".

Anyway, that amp will do fine on the sub you selected and will also give you room for future upgrade in case you decide you want an additional 10" sub or just a better 10" sub. Besides, you can turn the gains down on the amp to decrease it's output where the sub can handle it fine.

Old 11-02-2003, 02:23 AM
Yeah I was beginning to think there was some play with the power ratings going on...

Now I just need to figure out if I should upgrade to the sub/amp first, or upgrade the speakers first...

Old 11-03-2003, 12:38 AM