2004 - 2008 F-150

Rich smell or exhaust type smell thru vents

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2012, 09:06 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rich smell or exhaust type smell thru vents

Hello all,

A newbie here looking for some help.

I have an issue with my 2005 F150 Lariat 5.4L with 99,000 miles that is driving me nuts. I had the plugs changed, all fluids changed, new fuel filter, air filter, etc.... changed and since that was done I get this rich or smell of exhaust coming thru my vents only when I come to a stop at traffic/stop sign. While in motion I don't get the smell. I have no issues with check engine light or mis-fires and the truck runs really good, it's just that foul smell coming thru the vents. I read online where this issue has occurred to many other individuals but have yet to see a resolution. I have taken the truck back to the guy (reputable mechanic) to have him look at it and he can't find anything. I did ask him did he put anti-seize on the plugs and he did. He put it where it should be and he put it where it shouldn't be (threads). I asked him to remove the anti-seize from the threads and to re-torque the plugs which he did and smell still exists. I then purchased new plugs again (this time Motorcraft plugs) and he kindly replaced the after market plugs with these and still smell exists. I have since taken it to the Ford dealer and they too can not find what is causing the smell. I wasn't too impressed with the Ford dealer since they said they found left over fuel residue on top of the valve cover or head and cleaned that off with a brake cleaner type solvent, this was about a month and half after problem started occurring so if that was the case the fuel would have evaporated by then. I don't know if they just did not want to take the time to look at it or if they were serious. I know that they did not mind charging me for that bit of work which resulted in nothing.