2004 - 2008 F-150

high mileage common problems?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2012, 01:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
high mileage common problems?

my 2005 5.4 liter has 170 k on it. With the price of new trucks I have been considering keeping this old truck but I am wondering what are some of the common issues that start cropping up with high mileage so I can prepare in advance

so far my truck has needed very little except routine maintenance, but I am wondering if the handwriting is on the wall and if I'm about to start shelling out serious money if I keep it.

I am a high mileage driver and cannot afford to have a vehicle down for too long if something bad does happen like a serious engine problem.

the new trucks are wonderful and very appealing but with a 30 k entry price I can do a whole lot of maintenance to my current rig which I also still like very much

Old 01-10-2012, 02:55 PM
Better sell it.

Old 01-10-2012, 03:07 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
A lot of trucks around here have gone 200k+. Mine needed shocks, brakes, spark plugs, fuel filter. I'm going to replace belt, do coolant flush, and maybe even repalce hoses. As you say, a lot of repairs can be done and you're still better off than making a truck payment. Even if you get a "big repair" and it costs you $500, that's less than on MONTH truck payment !!

Old 01-10-2012, 03:16 PM
His truck is an 05 and I suspect with the original injectors.

Old 01-10-2012, 05:22 PM
Spark plugs, injectors, can phasers, etc.

Old 01-11-2012, 08:12 AM
Originally Posted by 06bluemeaniexl
Spark plugs, injectors, can phasers, etc.
Good points.....what if you were to set aside a new car payment would run you each month into a separate account and just keep doing it until one of two things happen.

1) After each major repair use the money in this separate account to cover the cost until the account becomes dry, then sell.