2004 - 2008 F-150

2004 front rotor replacement advice

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2007, 10:48 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 front rotor replacement advice

Greetings!

I apologize in advance for this long post.

I'm about to embark on a rotor and pad replacement on my 2004 F-150 SCAB 2WD, 5.4L V-8, HD payload (7-lug hubs). I am experiencing the vibration and pulsating sensation that other people have come across. I've had the rotors replaced once per TSB 05-6-21, which I've learned has been superceded by TSB 05-21-19. At this point I'm going to do the fronts because that seems to be where the problem is, then if all goes well I'll do the rears. I've never done a brake job/rotor job before, so I'm a little hesitant, but I'm fairly mechanically inclined, and after reading through lots of posts here and on other forums, I think it's something I can handle.

A few questions:

(1) As far as I can tell, the rotors for these 2WD trucks are a one-piece assembly. Fordparts.com has them for $177.33 (PN 5L3Z-1102-BA). I plan on getting either some Brembos or Powerslots, not the crappy OEMs that got me to where I am. It looks like I can get Powerslots at Tirerack for $160 per rotor (PN 8779PSL and PSR). And will these aftermarket rotor assemblies be of the one-piece variety?
(2) Regarding pads, I'm thinking of getting Hawk LTS pads. Others have mentioned they are happy with them. When you buy them, do you get 2 or 4 pads in a box (IOW, pads for one wheel or two)? I know, stupid question! Looks like Pep Boys has them for $80, and the picture shows 4 pads.
(3) I have learned that the large spindle nut must be removed, discarded, and replaced with a new one (which I've found at Fordparts.com for about $14 ea). The torque on that thing is very high - like 295 ft-lb! Have people had problems getting it off or back on? Cheater bar?