2004 - 2008 F-150

Sounds Like Water Sloshing...

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2007, 04:36 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sounds Like Water Sloshing...

I just bought my first F-150, a used '04 Crew Cab Lariat. I started noticing recently that when I accelerate from a stop it I can hear what sounds like water sloshing around. It's hard to pinpoint but it sounds like it's more towards the rear of the cab at first but then almost sounds like it makes its way towards the front as my acceleration levels off. Am I hearing the gas in the gas tank? Are the F-150's known for holding water in certain areas? Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

I'm new to F-150's, and new to the forum but I've found a ton of useful information already. I'm sure you can all help me figure this one out. Thanks.

Old 01-03-2007, 04:40 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Sounds like you got one with a leak. You need to pull the door sill trim up in the front and look in the wiring trough for water. You can also remove the kick panel trim to gain more access. Water from a leak tends to collect in the wiring channels.

Last edited by kd4crs; 01-03-2007 at 04:42 PM.
Old 01-03-2007, 04:49 PM
Water in the bed..... ,

MoBann

Old 01-03-2007, 05:56 PM
i think it might becoming from something in the ac, mine did this for awhile and thats what i figured went away after about a month

Old 01-03-2007, 05:59 PM
Either a plugged drain tube in the a/c, or a rear break light leak. Check the door sills first... Bottle of water under the seat???

Old 01-03-2007, 06:08 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Have the same EXACT problem described. Also an 04. Haven't figured it out and looked in the kick panel for water but did not feel what I heard.

Old 01-03-2007, 06:13 PM
no one would ever think it could be the residual effects of this would they

Trending Topics

Old 01-03-2007, 06:17 PM